Authors usher in spring

The Atlanta History Center’s Author Programs return March 2 with a spring lineup that features books on human enlightenment, civil rights and race, and southern cooking. The program offers a chance for attendees to connect with a varied group of writers via lectures, discussions and book signings at the AHC’s Buckhead location and its Margaret Mitchell House in Midtown.

The spring Author Program schedule includes:

  • Steven Pinker, Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress, Friday, March 2, 7 p.m., Atlanta History Center
  • Caitlin Macy, , Thursday, March 8, 7 p.m., Margaret Mitchell House
  • Adam Winkler, We the Corporations: How American Businesses Won Their Civil Rights, Tuesday, March 13, 8:00 pm, Atlanta History Center
  • Mitch Landrieu, In the Shadow of Statues: A White Southerner Confronts History, Monday, March 26, 8 p.m., Atlanta History Center
  • Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie, My Dear Hamilton, Wednesday, April 4, 7 p.m., Margaret Mitchell House
  • Michael K. Honey, To the Promised Land: Martin Luther King and the Fight for Economic Justice, Thursday, April 5, 8 p.m., Atlanta History Center
  • Lisa See, The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane, Monday, April 9, 7 p.m., Margaret Mitchell House
  • Eileen McNamara, Eunice: The Kennedy Who Changed the World, Wednesday, April 11, 8 p.m., Atlanta History Center
  • Eddie Hernandez with Susan Puckett, Turnip Greens & Tortillas: A Mexican Chef Spices Up the Southern Kitchen, Thursday, April 12, 6 p.m. reception and 7 p.m. program, Atlanta History Center
  • Peter Golden, Nothing is Forgotten, Tuesday, April 24, 7 p.m., Margaret Mitchell House
  • Staci L. Catron and Mary Ann Eaddy, Seeking Eden: A Collection of Georgia’s Historic Gardens, Wed, Apr 25, 7 p.m., Atlanta History Center
    Virginia Willis, Secrets of the Southern Table: A Food Lover’s Tour of the Global South, Monday, April 30, 6 p.m. reception and 7 p.m. program, Atlanta History Center
  • Janet Dewart Bell, Lighting the Fires of Freedom: African American Women in the Civil Rights Movement, Wednesday, May 2, 7 p.m., Margaret Mitchell House
  • John Sedgwick, Blood Moon: An American Epic of War and Splendor in the Cherokee Nation, Monday, May 7, 8 p.m., Atlanta History Center
  • Edward Larson, To the Edges of the Earth: 1909, the Race for the Three Poles, and the Climax of the Age of Exploration, Tuesday, May 22, 8 p.m., Atlanta History Center

Admission for lectures is $10 for the public, $5 for members and free to AHC Insiders. Reservations are suggested.

Author Isabel Allende, left, was interviewed by Gail O’Neill, a freelance journalist and contributor to ArtsATL.com, as part of last year’s Author Programs series.

Photo: Jason Hales, Atlanta History Center

 

Reply

%d bloggers like this: